jump to navigation

Signatures of “Little Discussed” Presidents Now on Display Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Posted by pbaran in updates.
Tags: ,

The State Archives has rotated Presidential signatures on display in Memorial Hall of the Museum of Connecticut History. Now featured are signatures of “little discussed” Presidents. They are Martin Van Buren, William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, Zachary Taylor, Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan, Rutherford B. Hayes, James Garfield, Chester A. Arthur, and Benjamin Harrison. Documents include President Fillmore’s commission to Nathaniel Lyon as a Captain. Lyon went on to become a Brigadier General and was the first Union General to fall in the Civil War. The signatures of George Washington and Abraham Lincoln remain on display.



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: